top of page

Perks of the Paleo

Back in September of 2015, I decided that I needed to lose weight. I had just graduated from high school and I was confused on what I wanted to do with my life. Over the summer my dog had passed away and I made a huge decision to not play college soccer, something I had dreamed about since I was four years old. I gained 20 pounds from the time I graduated in June to September. It was just a time of change for me and I was having a hard time coming to terms with everything. I decided that I needed to lose weight. I would go to the gym everyday and do cardio, but I still would not lose weight. I had no idea what I was doing wrong, and it was frustrating and to say the least not very motivating. After seeing Nutrisystem advertised on TV, I decided to give it a try. In the first week I lost six pounds like the program guaranteed. After two months I had lost 20 pounds...but the food was not very satisfying. I found myself constantly wanting to cheat on my "diet", and that is no way to live your life. I think that an important part of life is to eat tasty food if you are fortunate enough to have the means for it. Needless to say I gained all of the weight back that I had lost, and I was now back at the first stepping stone. So several months later it was time for my boyfriend's prom, and I was dreading finding a dress to wear. I decided to recycle one of my old dresses by wearing it again. Surprise, it did not fit. I was determined to lose the weight and fit into the dress. I had recently read Khloe Kardashian's book, "Strong Looks Better Naked", and she had talked about cutting out dairy from her diet. I decided that I would try the same thing, and after doing some research I found out that this was called the paleo diet. The paleo diet is a diet that contains no dairy products or gluten products. Basically, foods that are presumed to have been eaten by early humans such as meat, fish, vegetables, and fruit. Once I began the paleo diet, it turned into more of a lifestyle change than it did a "diet", and I think that is the best way to effectively lose weight and keep it off. When I began the paleo lifestyle I started cooking delicious meals and desserts. I found it to be so fun and to this day that is what I follow for the most part or just a low-carb diet (no-bread). I have kept the weight off and managed to eat tasty food while doing so. Everyone needs to find what works for them, but a lifestyle change I have found is definitely the most fulfilling way to do so.


EMILY'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Enjoy what you are cooking.

 

#2

It's okay to mess up a recipe. Everyone does. Just laugh it off and roll with it.

 

#3

Take time to bond and cook with loved ones. Some of the best memories are made in the kitchen.

bottom of page