top of page

My Favorite Snacks

Who doesn't love to snack?! I mean it just helps you get through the day. Some people or diets that you read about will say to limit snacking but I honestly think that it helps you not overeat (especially at night). Well with my low-carb diet I love to snack, but I have found snacks that help me stay within my daily carb intake. I try to eat about 40 carbs a day or less. Below I will list some of my favorite snacks. Most of them are not paleo (dairy-free and gluten-free), but I will do my best in the next few weeks to find some good paleo dips and snacks for everyone. Below I will also post the recipe for my 'Queso Blanco'. Have a great Thanksgiving!

Queso Blanco ingredients:

4 oz. pepper jack cheese (I typically go with mild-medium)

1/4 lb. white American cheese

4 oz. green chilies

1/4-1/2 cup jalapenos (depending on how spicy you like it)

3 tbsp. whole milk

4 0z. cream cheese

Directions:

1) Put all of these ingredients into a slow cooker.

2) Put the slow cooker on low.

3) Stir every 15 minutes and break up the cheese while doing so.

4) Once everything is melted and mixed together the dip is done. Should not take any longer than an hour.

This recipe serves about four people. Great for just snacking around the house. I love to dip pork rinds into this dip. Pork rinds have no carbs in them. Great for a snack and the dip is great for relaxing on the weekend and snacking, or even for parties. Just scale the recipe for larger groups. Hope you enjoy!

My Favorite Snacks:

1) Mozzarella string cheese

2) Vegetables (carrots, celery, broccoli, etc.)

3) Hidden valley ranch dip mix (just add sour cream which is low in carbs and you have an easy and tasty dip.)

4) Pork rinds

5) Mixed nuts (pistachios, walnuts, peanuts, almonds, etc.)

6) A scoop of peanut butter

7) Beef jerky

8) Summer sausage/ meat tray and cheese tray (easy snack that you can eat whenever and a great option if you are at a party.)


EMILY'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Enjoy what you are cooking.

 

#2

It's okay to mess up a recipe. Everyone does. Just laugh it off and roll with it.

 

#3

Take time to bond and cook with loved ones. Some of the best memories are made in the kitchen.

bottom of page